Machine gun strategies

Thread in 'MechWarrior Online' started by Zennon, Jan 21, 2018.

1. Zennon

Zennon New Member

I'm still new to the game, but am currently trying to maximize my impact in-game while running machine guns on various mechs. I'm running the usual Mist Lynx-G, with 8 LIGHT machine guns for ranged combat, with 2 ER medium lasers to help opening up components.

Does anyone have any other weapon combinations involving machine guns as your primary weapon? I'm going to buy the hero variant of the Blackjack this week, or is there a c-bill variant of another mech that you guys recommend?

I also am experimenting with a Marauder 3R with 3 heavy machine guns in the high shoulder mount with 4 pulse lasers as backup, in brawler mode.

2. Welcome to MWO and Mechspecs.

I would recommend only using machine guns as a back up weapon.

Even on the Mist Lynx and Piranha, MGs are only worth the face time is when armor is stripped or you are behind a mech and not getting return fire.

I can't in good conscience recommend machine guns on the 3R, but you might consider something like this. Bear in mind this build falls far short of the potential of the chassis.

I would make sure you have plenty of primary weapons, especially on slower mediums and heavies.
    I have run builds like this with decent results. But the machine guns are just there to fill tonnage without heat load.

https://mechspecs.com/threads/hbr-f-crit-machine-mk-2-6xcerml-4xclmg-ecm-tc-7.12894/

Just my opinion. I encourage experimenting. I just want to make sure you don't spent a lot of C-bills on a chassis that might not deliver what you want.

Zennon likes this.
  3. rinco

rinco Well-Known Member

Basically machine guns are useless until you strip some armor. So in a brawl you want to be torso twisting until that armor is stripped. Then you can maintain the facetime needed to unleash machine gun fury.