My First Mech - My First Kit Fox

Discussion in 'Kit Fox' started by rifter, Feb 7, 2015.

1. rifter

rifter New Member

As the title indicates I am a complete newb. I'm so green it's embarrassing and just starting to learn how to drive and stuff here. So you might imagine how overwhelmed I might be in trying to figure out what my first mech should be and how to build it. I'm starting to see what I might want, so that is a good start.

I haven't played a real Battletech game since the original Mechwarrior I think. But when I did I did like the light mechs, and in that game taking a Locust to people's legs was a pretty viable strategy. It's obviously a bit harder here, but based on what I have done in playing, even though I am new and all, I think a light mech is for me if nothing else but for the ability to run when I get into trouble. Ditto for Jump Jets.

I read a bunch of stuff about the Kit Fox and I thought it would be a fun mech to do. I also thought it would be a good idea to have ECM and be a sniper since that would remind me to duck and cover more and focus my damage on that first shot/volley/alpha strike before running. I haven't learned how to use lasers lasers effectively and I kind of like the ballistics, so I was thinking a build around the UAC. LRMs seemed a logical choice as well for sniping. They both seem to produce less heat and allow a quicker bang.

This is what I have so far for my build

Two things I am not figuring out for sure:
    1) how to factor heat dissipation into builds. Like figuring out the heat and ghost heat generated by weapons and how much is dissipated by heat sinks, etc.