PC Upgrade Time: Hard choices and cooling

Discussion in 'Hardware / Gaming Gear' started by Karl TenBrew, May 22, 2015.

1. Karl TenBrew

Karl TenBrew Space Pimp

So as a casual gamer who plays a lot of games casually and doesn't need the top-of-the-line gaming gear, I've been doing fine for the past ten years on just three inexpensive computers...the only reason it wasn't two was because my first unit was a learning experience and most of its components outright failed early. Thankfully it wasn't a too expensive a lesson. Unfortunately, my stability and longevity machine has hit its next step and is in need of upgrading.

Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3
    Intel i5-2400 @3.1 GHZ (4 core)
    GTX 560 (no special branding, just the basic card)
    Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium

It currently has two hard-drives that I'm not looking to replace until they die, a great case, a serviceable power supply that can support expansion to multiple graphics cards and cooling, and 16 GB RAM (2x 8 GB sticks). The RAM sticks are pretty basic and not top-end

For these keeping score, the Witcher 3 and Batman: Arkham Knight are pretty simply not going to run on this thing. Or if its technically possible it would suck so hard even at minimum settings that I'd rather not pretend. As if that weren't enough, I'm starting to get more micro-stuttering that is interfering with higher demand games and have a recently problem where certain games like Infinite Crisis will outright tank my FPS because of CPU load. So while I've gotten four years of excellent service out my CPU, I'm pretty sure it's close to kicking the bucket on its own and no longer meets "middle of the road" gaming, so I'd rather give it an honorable discharge instead of watching it fail outright.

The main dilemma I have right now is funding. I simply CAN'T do a full rebuild.

The second dilemma is my targets of stability and longevity. I like having upgrade paths...hell, upgrade paths are why I got this mobo in the first place.